Jason, the ex-pseudoscientist.

Posted: December 6, 2011 in Music & Philosophy, Rants, Uncategorized, Waxing Philosophical

I think my tenure as a pseudoscientist is over. 

It’s not that I don’t want to believe in a higher power or a spiritual existence after my short life on Earth, it’s just that there really is NO empirical evidence for such whimsical fantasies.  Besides; I’ve found that science and genuine questioning of the Universe is just as fulfilling as believing in whatever it was I used to believe in.

Do I think aliens exist?  Perhaps.  Odds are that they do, somewhere… In fact even today they announced the discovery of an Earth-like planet just outside of our solar system with an average temperature of 72 degrees.  But if you’ve ever seen the Earth from far above – say, a satellite image or even as low as a plane flies, it’s truly humbling to really not be able to distinguish man-made structures.  Sure, you can occasionally discern some agriculture or a dark brown-gray blemish that must be a city (and of course the Great Wall, and various other structures and lights at night), but you quickly realize that if there were advanced civilizations out there, assuming they even knew Earth existed, they would likely not even be aware of our individual comings and goings.  We are a tiny, temporary colony of bacteria on this little blue and white marble somewhere in space and time.  Are you aware of the plight of bacteria on a real marble that you can hold in your hand? Didn’t think so.

So what does this mean?  Must I accept my fate should I be incorrect about religion and spirituality – accept the fires of hell when I die for not believing?  Maybe this is the only way.  Anyhow, I’m pretty convinced that if there is a “God” and “afterlife” in the traditional sense, that such a God would reabsorb that which will be left of me rather than exacting some sort of punishment; because when you really think of it, what crimes could one person commit in their short time on Earth that could possibly warrant an eternity of excruciatingly painful torture that is the traditional depiction of hell?  Even considering Hitler’s reign of terror, I scarcely think humanity or the universe was damaged so badly as to earn him an eternity burning.  I think at most he would sentenced to experience the pain and despair of each individual he affected and then be released.  And likely, this would be a self-imposed punishment out of remorse.  This is a point that not many agree with me about, but I stand by it.  I got this idea from Neale Donald Walsch’s “Conversations With God” series.  Or perhaps it is more appropriate to say that I inherently knew it and the author’s words resonated with me.  To paraphrase, God (the universe) is perfect and complete.  Nothing we can do can hurt or disappoint ‘him’ since, after all, he knows everything that ever has happened or will happen.  So if you can’t be hurt or let down, you have no reason to get upset.  If you don’t get upset, you have no reason to exact revenge.  That’s really all there is to it.  I truly think any other version of God that is attributed human emotions or petty trivialities (assuming there is a consciousness attached to the universe) is really making God in their image and making a smaller god than the God really exists.

That’s all for now.  In case anyone is interested, I am working on a book finally.  It will be replete with such philosophical meanderings and thought excursions.  I am not writing it to make money or change the world; it’s just something I feel I have to do and I think it’s time.  I’m sure it will be available for free if you want one, though it could be a year or two before it’s done. 

I used to wonder what the point of writing new music was, but then it occurred to me that a song I write will have elements of all the music that has touched and changed me that maybe my listener will not have heard or have been affected by,  So by listening to my music, he or she will have me as a filter to condense and refine truly impactful music.  In other words, by listening to one song of mine, you have essentially listened to all the music I have ever heard; like musical genetics… or something.

On another note, “God” is not God’s name, so quit getting your panties in a bundle when someone says “Goddamn.”

 

Leave a Reply

