New Song Demos: “Afterparty” and “Better”

Posted: November 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

For those of you that missed me playing last night, I just recorded quick versions of the new songs I played called “Afterparty” and a new rendition of “Better.” I wrote Afterparty in a relatively depressed but enlightened mood.  I’ve talked to two psychics in my life: One gave me $50 and the other one told me I have what she called a “death wish.”  It doesn’t necessarily mean I desire death but it implies a longing for the great beyond and it cannot be quenched by living.  This song will be great irony if I live a long time.  The new version of better has some new lyrics and a few new techniques (can anybody say ‘turntables?’) Anyway, here are the lyrics as well.  Enjoy!

CLICK ON THE SONG TITLES IN THE “MY SONGS” BOX WIDGET TO THE RIGHT TO DOWNLOAD/LISTEN TO THE SONGS

AFTERPARTY

If I die today

You can have all my things

‘Cause I’m not long

For this world

And I don’t want to keep the after party waiting

No I don’t want to keep the after party waiting

If I die tonight

Don’t you dare cry

Don’t shed a tear

‘Cause I’m not here

Because I don’t want to keep the after party waiting

No I don’t want to keep the after party waiting

I’m not long for this world no no

I don’t belong on this Earth; it’s not my home

I’m just wrong for this world

It’s a temporary residence at best

And I’m not long

No I’m not long for this world

Don’t you mourn for me

Should my car become acquainted with a tree

Going 85

On a midnight drive

I just didn’t want to keep the party waiting

If I catch a rare and deadly disease

Don’t you find no cure for me please

Or ask me to be strong

‘Cause I don’t wanna keep the party waiting too long

No I don’t wanna keep the after party waiting

I’m not long for this world no no

I don’t belong on this Earth; it’s not my home

I’m just wrong for this world

It’s a temporary residence at best

And I’m not long

No I’m not long for this world

(the following 2 lines are not in the song, but they were intended to be:)

If I get blowed up in war

Don’t be mad; I’m not lonely anymore

I was never long for this world no no

I don’t belong on this Earth; it’s not my home

I’m just wrong for this world

It’s a temporary residence at best

And I’m not long

No I’m not long for this world

 

 

BETTER

My guitar may be a little out of tune

And my voice don’t always do what I want it to

My fingers hurt, but what do I have to show?

Just a couple of chords that sound like a song

You’ve heard a million times before

And I never took the time to learn the notes

That fit with the rhyme to make make it flow

To make it go; To make it all come together so nice but

 

I’m getting better all the time

You can see me change right before your eyes

I’m getting better every day

And I know I’m still a long ways away but

I’m getting better bit by bit

I gotta make this one fuckin’ song a hit

 

I’m kind of a butterface

And I’m a little overweight

Cause I hate to do sit-ups

Man I love me some cake

My belief in God is a little flawed

My sense of time is a little odd

I don’t own any dress clothes; I’ve never ‘holla’d at’ no hoes

Most of the time I got my finger up my nose but…

 

CHORUS

 

I want to make it seem like I know how to play guitar

I’ll move my fingers so smooth you’ll think I know where all the notes are

 

I’m a liar, I’m a braggard, I’m a poet and a thief

I can’t stand the cold but I’m always complaining about the heat

You won’t find me making a stand for morality

To each his own is the creed I live by and it

It may be TMI but I go commando all the time but…

 

Leave a Reply

